<TED Worksheet>
8. Succcess, failure and the drive to keep creating
 Elizabeth Gilbert
<7:14>  |  March 2014 
*Elizabeth Gilbert is famous for her book “Eat, Pray, Love.”

 

Questions
(PDF)  (Word)

Answers
(PDF)  (Word)

Transcipt

 

 

<Questions : Success, failure and the drive to keep creating>

1. Something happened when the speaker was at JFK Airport. What was it? Choose the best statement.

(a) She missed her flight because she was talking with her fans.
(b) Two women thought she was a movie director.
(c) Two women came up to the speaker and asked if she had something to do with “Eat, Pray, Love.”
(d) She found an old Italian restaurant.

 

2. She was in a tricky position after she wrote “Eat, Pray, Love.” Why? Fill in the blanks.
She knew no one would be pleased.

(1) Fans of “Eat, Pray, Love” would be disappointed

by her next book because __________

___________________________

(2) Haters of “Eat, Pray, Love” would be disappointed

by her next book because __________

___________________________




3. The speaker found a way that her creativity could survive its own success. Where did she find it?

 

 

4. How many years did the speaker fail at getting her book published?

 

 

5. The speaker mentioned “I’m not going to quit, I’m going home.” What did she mean by “going home?”

 

 

6. In the speech, she compared herself to someone. Who was it?

 

 

7. The speaker explained how we might experience great failure and great success. Fill in (a) ~ (d).

(a) _____________________   

(b) _____________________

(c)_____________________ 

(d)______________________ 




8. It is difficult to find “your home,” but the speaker provided a hint. What was it?

 

 

9. She published a new book after “Eat, Pray, Love” in 2010. How was it? What did she think about the result?

 

 

10. The speaker mentioned that we should build our house right on top of what we love most. According to the speaker, what should we do if we get vaulted out of our home by either great failure or great success?

 

 



=================

<Answers : Success, failure and the drive to keep creating>

1. Something happened when the speaker was at JFK Airport. What was it? Choose the best statement.

(a) She missed her flight because she was talking with her fans.
(b) Two women thought she was a movie director.
(c) Two women came up to the speaker and asked if she had something to do with “Eat, Pray, Love.”
(d) She found an old Italian restaurant.

 

2. She was in a tricky position after she wrote “Eat, Pray, Love.” Why? Fill in the blanks.
She knew no one would be pleased.
(1) Fans of “Eat, Pray, Love” would be disappointed by her next book

because _it was not going to be___ 

____ “Eat, Pray, Love.”______

(2) Haters of “Eat, Pray, Love” would be disappointed by her next book

because __it would provide____

____ evidence that I still lived.______




3. The speaker found a way that her creativity could survive its own success. Where did she find it?
In lessons that she had learned earlier in life about how creativity can survive its own failure.

 

4. How many years did the speaker fail at getting her book published?
almost six years

 

5. The speaker mentioned “I’m not going to quit, I’m going home.” What did she mean by “going home?”
returning to the work of writing

 

6. In the speech, she compared herself to someone. Who was it?
She compared herself to who she was 20 years ago.

 

7. The speaker explained how we might experience great failure and great success. Fill in (a) ~ (d).

(a) ___success_____

(b) ___failure_____

(c)___bad________

(d)___good_______




8. It is difficult to find “your home,” but the speaker provided a hint. What was it?
Your home is whatever in this world you love more than you love yourself. (or your home is that thing to which you can dedicate your energies with such singular devotion that the ultimate results become inconsequential.)

 

9. She published a new book after “Eat, Pray, Love” in 2010. How was it? What did she think about the result?
It bombed. (It was bad.) She was fine.

 

10. The speaker mentioned that we should build our house right on top of what we love most. According to the speaker, what should we do if we get vaulted out of our home by either great failure or great success?
Fight your way back to that home (the only way that is has ever been done).

 

========================

Click here for more TED Talks Worksheets!

========================